CAF WCL 2023: UNIFFAC Sub–Regional Qualifications to Kick Start 8th September

The Union of Central African Football Associations, UNIFFAC, has announced the program for the sub-regional qualifications towards the 2023 edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League to be held in the Ivory Coast later this year.  

CAF WCL 2023: UNIFFAC Sub–Regional Qualifications to Kick Start 8th September

What is the CAF Women’s Champions League? 

The CAF Women's Champions League is Africa's most prestigious Women's inter-club football Jamboree, bringing together the very best teams from all over the continent to compete for the right to be crowned African Champions.

This year’s competition will be the third edition of the prestigious inter-club continental showpiece, after Egypt 2021 and Morocco 2022. 

The maiden edition was won by South African outfit Mamelodi Sundowns, while AS FAR of Morocco won the second edition on home soil, beating the 2021 Champions 4-0. 

The 2023 edition will run from the 5th to the 24th of November in Cote d’Ivoire. 

Read More: Ita Mbong, Dja Sports Academy Promoted to The Guinness Super League

Which Teams will take part in the UNIFFAC Qualification Tournament?

The sub-regional qualification tournament for the UNIFFAC zone will have four teams contesting for a spot in Cote d’Ivoire; TP Mazembe (DR Congo), AS AWA (Cameroon), Huracanes (Equatorial Guinea), AS Epah (Congo)

What is the Format of The UNIFFAC Qualification Tournament?

The competing teams will take part in a round-robin tournament with all teams facing each other. Three points will be awarded for a win, one point for a draw, and zero points for a defeat. 

The side finishing with the most points will be crowned sub-regional champions and obtain automatic qualification to the CAF Women’s Champions League, Cote d’Ivoire 2023.

The tournament is scheduled to be played as follows:  

Match Day 1 (Friday 8 September 2023)

  • Huracanes Vs TP Mazembe, 13:00 GMT 
  • AS Awa Vs AS Epah, 16:00 GMT

Matchday 2 (Monday 11 September 2023)

  • AS Awa Vs Huracanes 13:00 GMT 
  • TP Mazembe Vs. AS Epah, 16:00 GMT

Match Day 3 (Thursday 14 September 2023)

  • TP Mazembe Vs AS Awa 1:00 GMT

All games will be played at the Estadio De Malabo in Equatorial Guinea. 

The Champions of the UNIFFAC Zone will join the Champions of the host country (Atletico FC), the CAF Women’s Champions League defending champions (AS FAR), and the champions from five other sub-regional zones in the eight-team tournament in November.

See Also:

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post