FOVU De Baham Crowned Cameroon Cup Champions!

Fovu De Baham was crowned Cameroon Cup Champions after a 2-0 win over PWD Bamenda on Sunday, 24th September 2023. 

Mbappe Muller and Stephane Ikpeme were the two scorers for the Yangoua'a as they picked up their third Cameroon Cup title.

FOVU De Baham Crowned Cameroon Cup Champions!

FOVU De Baham Crowned Cameroon Cup Champions!

The 2023 finals, cheered by Prime Minister Chief Dr. Dion Ngute, had a derby atmosphere, with fans of the two teams adding to the ambiance and color of the much-anticipated game. 

The team led by former PWD Bamenda Coach Doumbe Bosso dominated proceedings from the off and took the lead in the 10th minute after Mbappe Muller rounded the PWD goalkeeper Ning Che to give his side the lead. 

Suggested: The Complete List of MTN ELITE ONE Clubs for the 2023/2024 Season

The goal intensified "hostilities" in the stands as the cultural displays from both sets of fans took a deafening tone, much to the delight of the dignitaries who were present, amongst them, the Minister of Sports, Narcisse Mouelle Kombi, and FECAFOOT President Samuel Eto'o.

PWD Bamenda mounted a late first-half challenge to restore parity, but FOVU held on to take a 1-0 lead to halftime.

The Second half was much more Cagey as both teams tried to impose their style on the other. PWD came close to the equalizer but failed to capitalize on their chances. 

Despite the Changes from Coach Constantine Bep, the Abakwa Boys never came close to troubling their opponents.

The game was put to bed in the 63rd minute as Ikpeme took advantage of some chaotic defending to make it 2-0. 

This was FOVU's third Cameroon Cup trophy after the triumphs of 2001 and 2010. 

The win means FOVU will face League Champions Coton Sports Of Garoua in the Prestigious Super Cup Of Cameroon 2023.

PWD, on their part, will turn their attention to the forthcoming MTN ELITE ONE Championship opener against Bamboutos Of Mbouda in a few days time.

Also Read: All Qualified Teams For TotalEnergies AFCON 2023

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post